Terrible Two – Potty Training Blues

When I moved to a new area, I put my son Justin to a local daycare and he came back home potty trained in one day.   He was shouting “bye nappy, bye kimbi” (Afrikaans word for diaper). While I was fascinated at this instant transformation I could not help wondering what method they had used to train him.

diaper

I wondered if the training was brutal and intimidating. I prayed to God that it wasn’t that he had just copied the other little boys. I had to shut the horrid ideas running through my head, since I was new and couldn’t speak the local language I couldn’t-t question, neither did I want to be seen as fussy and for fear of victimisation for my poor boy, he was only 26 months old. I had to be brave because I did not have anyone else to babysit him.

The worst thing was I had to leave him there for over 12 hours (killed me) daily to go to work, I felt I needed to be on the carers’ good side, I was in turmoil. Over the next 2 months, I watched him become more independent toilet-wise and hoped it was not just some phase.

Everything worked well for a while until he decided he could use peeing as an attention seeking device. If he feels ignored by anyone he will pee in his pants. With the winter full on, I sometimes worry that he will catch a cold as he can go through 6 or so pants in rapid succession. To curb this I have had to put back on the diaper. With a diaper on he will whine and harass anyone he picks to take him to the toilet, especially if it’s no.2. If it’s only pee, he will do it in trickles so that he goes to toilet several times. It’s not like he doesn’t get enough attention but he just feels that he must always be in the spotlight.

Right now I can’t figure out exactly what I am dealing with, attention seeking or incorrect potty training method, or maybe the Terrible Two phase. I guess I am just going to have to wait this one out and see what happens. I am just keeping my fingers crossed and hope that this latest phase will soon pass.

Leave a Reply

